14 août 2022

Ukraine-Russia crisis: London sanctions 386 Duma members

Partager avec :

British Foreign Secretary Liz Truss announced on Friday sanctions against 386 members of the Russian Duma who supported the invasion of Ukraine. In a statement, the minister said the MPs, who voted to recognise the independence of the pro-Russian separatist regions of Donetsk and Lugansk in eastern Ukraine, have been banned from travelling and their assets frozen in the UK, where they are also barred from doing business.

The announcement comes 24 hours after London announced sanctions against seven wealthy and influential Russians close to the Kremlin, including Roman Abramovich, owner of Chelsea football club. He has been hit with an asset freeze, travel ban and trading ban, which has suspended the announced sale of the club. The British government also said on Friday that it could soon seize a luxury flat bought in cash by a young woman linked to Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, as part of a new law against dirty money. The Economic Crime Bill, which was fast-tracked through parliament after Russia's invasion of Ukraine, will make it easier to punish cases of "unexplained wealth" belonging to people with no known source of legitimate income.


Photo Credits: lejsl